Subscribe to our e-newsletter
Follow us on Twitter
Privacy and cookies
Established 1996
Saturday 23 March 2019


EC names remaining members of expert pensions panel

Written by Theo Andrew

The European Commission has named the members of its high level group on pensions, following the appointment PensionsEurope secretary general Matti Leppälä.

Age Platform Europe general secretary Anne-Sophie Parent and Insurance Europe head of personal insurance, general insurance and macroeconomics department Jeanmart Nicolas will join Leppälä as representatives of “common interest”.

Chemical company BASF vice president of benefits Richard Nicka has been chosen to handle the employers organisation, while Chamber of Labour Vienna head of the socio-political department Josef Wöss has been chosen as the representative of the European Trade Union Confederation.

The group has also appointed four academics, Nazere da Costa Cabral, Boris Majen, Patxot Cardoner Concepio and Yves Stevens.

The mandate of the group starts in July 2018 and runs for 18 months.

In December 2017, the European Commission adopted the decision of setting up a high-level group of experts on pensions. This expert group is small and consists of only three members representing stakeholders in pensions, four academics, the EU level social partners, EIOPA and the European Commission.

The other stakeholder representatives come from Insurance Europe and AGE Platform Europe.

The expert group will provide policy advice to the Commission on matters related to ways of improving the provision, safety through prudential rules, intergenerational balance, adequacy and sustainability of supplementary (occupational and personal) pensions.

Related Articles

EP Awards 2019

Latest News Headlines
Most read stories...
World Markets (15 minute+ time delay)

Irish Awards Winners Brochure